What government vet hospitals charge in India
Government and university vet hospitals charge small, fixed fees. In the official lists we found, an OPD or case-paper fee is ₹10–100 3567, an anti-rabies vaccination ₹30–200 2569, and a spay or other major surgery ₹150–2,000 1367. Delhi's government hospitals say they charge nothing for medicines or services 8. What adds up is what the fee leaves out: medicines, surgical material and, at some hospitals, the vaccine itself 3410.
- OPD or case paper
- ₹10 at Maharashtra state clinics (2024) to ₹100 at TANUVAS Namakkal and PVNRTVU Hyderabad (undated lists)367
- Anti-rabies vaccination
- ₹100 including vaccine and certificate in Goa (Aug 2024); ₹90 at Madras Veterinary College (undated)25
- Spay (female dog)
- ₹500 at IVRI Bareilly (June 2024); ₹750 major surgery incl. spaying at TANUVAS Namakkal (undated)16
Published fees by hospital
| Hospital (place) | Date of list | OPD / registration | Anti-rabies vaccination | Spay / major surgery | X-ray | Health certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ICAR-IVRI Referral Veterinary Polyclinic (Bareilly, UP) | Surgery, X-ray and lab: June 2024; registration undated 1 | ₹30; ₹200 after 12:30 pm; ₹400 after 5 pm or on holidays 1 | Not listed 1 | Spay ₹500; castration ₹400; plus tax 1 | ₹150 1 | Not listed 1 |
| Goa government vet hospitals and dispensaries | 7 Aug 2024 2 | Not stated 2 | ₹100, including vaccine and certificate 2 | Not stated 2 | Not stated 2 | Included with the vaccination 2 |
| Maharashtra state and Zilla Parishad vet clinics | Citizen charter, 2024 3 | ₹10 case paper 3 | Bite cases: ₹10 case paper; owner pays for the vaccine 3 | Major surgery ₹150; minor surgery ₹100 (dogs and cats) 3 | Not listed 3 | ₹20 per small animal 3 |
| Veterinary College Hospital, Hebbal (Bengaluru, KVAFSU) | 26 Aug 2021 4 | ₹50 a day (morning), ₹100 a day (evening) 4 | Vaccine charged at its MRP 4 | Major surgery ₹500 (IV anaesthesia) or ₹750 (gas); castration ₹300 4 | ₹50–150 by film size 4 | ₹200 4 |
| Madras Veterinary College hospital (Chennai, TANUVAS) | Undated; listed on 4 Oct 2026 5 | ₹20, renewed after 7 days 5 | ₹90 5 | Major operation ₹500 5 | ₹50 5 | ₹250 5 |
| Veterinary Clinical Complex, Namakkal (TANUVAS) | Undated; listed on 4 Oct 2026 6 | ₹100 for 7 days 6 | ₹200 6 | Major surgery including spaying ₹750; castration ₹500 6 | ₹250 6 | Not listed 6 |
| PVNRTVU Veterinary Clinical Complex (Rajendranagar, Hyderabad) | Undated; listed on 4 Oct 2026 7 | ₹100 for 3 days 7 | Vaccine ₹100 7 | Major surgery ₹2,000 7 | ₹300 7 | Not listed 7 |
| Delhi government vet hospitals | Undated FAQ 8 | Department FAQ: no payment for medicines or other services 8 | Free anti-rabies vaccination being arranged, per the department 8 | Not listed 8 | Available at Tis Hazari and Bawana; fee not stated 8 | Not listed 8 |
| Chandigarh government vet institutions | Undated 9 | ₹30 9 | ₹30 9 | Castration ₹20; minor operation ₹50 9 | ₹30 per film; radiology wing marked not functioning 9 | ₹50 9 |
| PCMC vet clinics (Pimpri-Chinchwad) | Undated 10 | ₹10 case paper 10 | Vaccination fee ₹80; vaccine type not stated 10 | Major surgery ₹80; owner pays for medicines and material used in surgery 10 | Not listed 10 | Not listed 10 |
How IVRI's fees changed, 2022 to 2024
| Item (dogs and cats) | July 2022 | June 2024 |
|---|---|---|
| Spay (ovariohysterectomy) | ₹400 11 | ₹500 1 |
| Castration | ₹300 11 | ₹400 1 |
| Plain X-ray | ₹150 11 | ₹150 1 |
| Ultrasound | ₹250 11 | ₹250 1 |
| Complete blood count | ₹250 11 | ₹300 1 |
Why it costs less, and what you may still pay for
These hospitals are run by state animal husbandry departments, municipal bodies and veterinary universities, which publish fixed fees for each service 134. Many charge only a small case-paper fee for a visit, and Delhi's department says it charges nothing for medicines or other services at its hospitals 38.
The fee often covers the doctor's work, not the materials. PCMC says the owner pays for the medicines and material used in surgery 10. Hebbal charges vaccines at their printed MRP 4. Maharashtra asks owners to pay for the anti-rabies vaccine in dog-bite cases 3. IVRI adds tax and charges more for registration after 12:30 pm and after 5 pm 1.
Some fees include more: Goa's ₹100 anti-rabies fee covers the vaccine and the certificate, and if you bring your own vaccine for other shots the service charge is ₹150 per vaccine 2.
Before you go
- Ask whether the vaccine or medicines are included, or whether you'll be given a prescription to buy them outside.
- Ask for a receipt for every fee and keep it with the prescription.
- Check the date next to each fee here. It is the date of the hospital's list, not today's price.
How we chose these numbers
Not fully clear yet
Official sources disagree or leave gaps on these. Confirm before you rely on them.
- IVRI shows two registration fees for dogs and cats: ₹30 in normal hours on its Clinical Services page 1 and ₹50 on its polyclinic page that lists July 2022 charges 11. Neither registration table is dated. Ask at the counter.
- PVNRTVU's fee column is headed 'Univ. Proposal Charges' 7, so these may be proposed rather than final rates. Confirm at the hospital.
- The TANUVAS, PVNRTVU, Delhi, Chandigarh and PCMC lists carry no date 5678910. Chandigarh's list looks old, and it marks the radiology wing as not functioning 9.
- Most lists don't say whether a surgery fee covers anaesthesia drugs, sutures and medicines after the operation. PCMC says the owner pays for medicines and material used in surgery 10; ask the hospital for an estimate.
- Delhi's department FAQ says free anti-rabies vaccination arrangements 'are being made' 8; it doesn't confirm that every hospital stocks the vaccine. Call before you go.
- Delhi's FAQ is written for livestock farmers 8. It doesn't say separately how pet visits are charged; confirm at the hospital.
Last checked 4 Oct 2026. Facts checked against the official sources below by Thapki. Written with AI help from the sources below and checked against them line by line; the Thapki team reads and approves each page before it goes live.
Spot something wrong or out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.
Sources
- Clinical services: Referral Veterinary Polyclinic registration fee and charges (w.e.f. June 2024) · ICAR-Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar · seen 4 Oct 2026
- Unstarred Question No. 104, 'Vaccination at veterinary hospital', answered 7 Aug 2024 (PDF) · Goa Legislative Assembly · seen 4 Oct 2026
- Citizen charter (Marathi), Appendix 9: paid services of the Animal Husbandry Department (Word file dated 4 Apr 2024; PDF) · Commissionerate of Animal Husbandry, Maharashtra · seen 4 Oct 2026
- Rates charged for services at Veterinary College, Hebbal (letter No. VCH/R/2.1/2021/157, 26 Aug 2021; scanned PDF) · Karnataka Veterinary, Animal and Fisheries Sciences University · seen 4 Oct 2026
- MVC Chennai teaching hospital: hospital fee structure · Tamil Nadu Veterinary and Animal Sciences University (TANUVAS) · seen 4 Oct 2026
- Veterinary Clinical Complex, VCRI Namakkal: hospital fee structure · Tamil Nadu Veterinary and Animal Sciences University (TANUVAS) · seen 4 Oct 2026
- Veterinary Clinical Complex Rajendranagar: fee structure (user charges for companion animals; vaccine price) · P.V. Narsimha Rao Telangana Veterinary University · seen 4 Oct 2026
- Frequently asked questions (Animal Husbandry Unit) · Development Department, Government of NCT of Delhi · seen 4 Oct 2026
- Fees structure for pet animals · Animal Husbandry Department, Chandigarh (chdanimalhusbandry.gov.in) · seen 4 Oct 2026
- Citizen charter, veterinary department: animal treatment centre fees (Marathi PDF) · Pimpri Chinchwad Municipal Corporation · seen 4 Oct 2026
- RVP-TVCC services offered: registration fee and charges (w.e.f. July 2022) · ICAR-Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar · seen 4 Oct 2026