Dog registration in India: rules, fees and documents by city

Dog registration is a licence from your city's municipal body, under that city's own law, such as section 399 of the DMC Act in Delhi or section 191B of the MMC Act in Mumbai 14. Delhi, Mumbai, Noida, Gurugram, Pune, Chennai and Hyderabad all register pet dogs, mostly online, while Bengaluru's rules are still a draft 17. Almost everywhere the key document is a current anti-rabies vaccination certificate from a vet, and in Delhi and Chennai the licence runs out when the rabies vaccination does 1214.

What it is
A licence from your city body, under the city's own law14
Main document
A valid anti-rabies vaccination certificate from a registered vet151112
Usually also
Your ID or address proof, and photos of the dog151112
Fees
From ₹50 in Chennai (2025–26) to ₹500 in Delhi (2026), Noida (a year, since 2021) and Gurugram (reported one-time, 2026)371013
Rabies link
In Delhi and Chennai the licence lasts only as long as the rabies vaccination214
Bengaluru
Draft only; not notified as of Sep 202617

Guides in this section

City by city

CityWho issues itHow to applyFeeHow long it lasts
DelhiMCDOnline, MCD pet dog portal 1₹500, new or renewal (2026) 3Up to 1 year; ends with the rabies vaccination 23
MumbaiBMCOnline, BMC portal 5Not published in BMC's documents 5Not stated in BMC's documents 5
NoidaNoida AuthorityNAPR app 7₹500 a year (since Oct 2021) 7One year, due each April 8
GurugramMCGSaral Haryana portal 911₹500 one-time, as reported in June 2026 10Reported as one-time; MCG's fee notice not online 1011
PunePMCOnline, PMC services portal 12Not shown on the portal before applying 12Not stated 12
ChennaiGCCOnline, GCC pet licence portal, then your vet 14₹50 (2025–26) 13Follows the latest rabies vaccination 14
HyderabadGHMCOnline, pet animal portal 15₹50 in a 2020 report; now unclear 16Not stated 16
BengaluruCity corporations under GBANot yet: draft only 17Draft: ₹500, or ₹50 for Indian or mongrel dogs (2026) 17Draft: renew every year 17

Documents most cities ask for

Where to get the anti-rabies certificate

Any registered vet can vaccinate your dog and write the certificate; MCD, for example, accepts one from a registered veterinary practitioner or hospital 1. Some city clinics vaccinate free: Chennai's GCC pet clinics give the rabies vaccine at no cost 13.

Ask the vet to print it on their letterhead with the vaccination date, the next due date and their council registration number. That is what MCD's sample certificate asks for, and it makes renewal easy anywhere 19.

Renewal: plan it around the rabies booster

Where the licence follows the rabies vaccination, as in Delhi and Chennai 214, get the yearly booster before its due date and renew straight after with the new certificate. In Delhi, renewing more than a month late adds ₹100 for each month (2026) 3.

Why it helps to have one

If your city is not listed

Ask the veterinary section of your municipal corporation or nagar nigam whether it licenses pet dogs, what it charges and which documents it wants. We add a city only after checking its official sources.

Not fully clear yet

Official sources disagree or leave gaps on these. Confirm before you rely on them.

Last checked 4 Oct 2026. Facts checked against the official sources below by Thapki. Written with AI help from the sources below and checked against them line by line; the Thapki team reads and approves each page before it goes live.

Spot something wrong or out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.

Sources

  1. SOP for Pet Dog Registration (PDF) · Municipal Corporation of Delhi · seen 4 Oct 2026
  2. Terms and conditions for registration of pet dog (PDF) · Municipal Corporation of Delhi · seen 4 Oct 2026
  3. Pet Dog Registration portal (fees and validity) · Municipal Corporation of Delhi · seen 4 Oct 2026
  4. BMC guidelines on pet dogs, street dogs, feeders, RWAs and AOAs (PDF, final sign-off 20 Mar 2025) · BMC Veterinary Health Department · seen 4 Oct 2026
  5. Manual for application for dog license (PDF) · Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation · seen 4 Oct 2026
  6. FAQs, including incineration booking terms · BMC Veterinary Health Department · seen 4 Oct 2026
  7. Post: NAPR app; licence fee ₹500 a year (13 Jan 2022) · CEO, Noida Authority (official X account) · seen 4 Oct 2026
  8. Noida: pet registration must by Jan 31, 2023 (13 Dec 2022) · ThePrint, PTI (news) · seen 4 Oct 2026
  9. Gurugram makes pet dog registration must (25 Jun 2026) · NewsDrum (news) · seen 4 Oct 2026
  10. MCG makes registration mandatory with ₹500 fee (27 Jun 2026) · The Logical Indian (news) · seen 4 Oct 2026
  11. Issue certificate of dog registration: service details (PDF, Nov 2025) · Antyodaya-SARAL, Government of Haryana · seen 4 Oct 2026
  12. PMC online services portal: Dog License (H-11) service entry · Pune Municipal Corporation · seen 4 Oct 2026
  13. Veterinary public health activities (pet licence fee, free rabies vaccination at pet clinics) · Greater Chennai Corporation · seen 4 Oct 2026
  14. How to apply for a pet licence in Chennai (11 Nov 2025) · Citizen Matters (news) · seen 4 Oct 2026
  15. GHMC website, e-services: Pet Dog License · Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation · seen 4 Oct 2026
  16. GHMC starts issuing unique ID numbers for pets (21 Dec 2020) · Telangana Today (news) · seen 4 Oct 2026
  17. Bengaluru reworks pet dogs policy (16 Sep 2026) · Deccan Herald (news) · seen 4 Oct 2026
  18. Chennai Corporation makes microchip mandatory for pet dogs (5 Sep 2025) · DT Next (news) · seen 4 Oct 2026
  19. Sample of anti-rabies vaccination certificate (PDF) · Municipal Corporation of Delhi · seen 4 Oct 2026