Dog X-ray, blood test and ultrasound cost in India
Checked against 7 sources
At government and veterinary-college hospitals, a dog X-ray costs about ₹30 to ₹300 depending on film size and the institution123456, a blood test (a full count or biochemistry panel) about ₹150 to ₹350 145, and an ultrasound about ₹100 to ₹1,000 depending on the body part scanned12345. These are official, dated fees at government and university hospitals; private clinics set their own prices, which usually run higher and vary by city and clinic, so always ask for a written estimate before a test how to read a vet bill.
- X-ray
- ₹30 at Chandigarh to ₹300 at PVNRTVU Hyderabad, by film size; Chandigarh's radiology wing is marked not functioning65
- Blood test (CBC)
- ₹150 at TANUVAS Namakkal to ₹350 (Complete Blood Picture) at PVNRTVU Hyderabad; ₹300 at IVRI Bareilly451
- Ultrasound
- ₹100 (abdomen) at Madras Veterinary College to ₹750–1,000 (abdomen/heart) at PVNRTVU Hyderabad35
On this page
Published fees by hospital
| Hospital (place) | Date of list | X-ray | Ultrasound | Blood test |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ICAR-IVRI Referral Veterinary Polyclinic (Bareilly, UP) | June 2024 1 | ₹150, pet-animal tier1 | ₹250 1 | Haematology (CBC) ₹300; kidney function ₹300; liver function ₹400 1 |
| Veterinary College Hospital, Hebbal (Bengaluru, KVAFSU) | 26 Aug 2021 2 | ₹50–150 by film size (6×8 to 12×15)2 | ₹300 2 | Hematology and biochemistry ₹40 per parameter; some panels ₹60–150 2 |
| Madras Veterinary College hospital (Chennai, TANUVAS) | Undated; listed 5 Oct 2026 3 | ₹50 plain; ₹200 with contrast3 | ₹100; Doppler echo ₹150 3 | No separate CBC fee; a 'Master Health Check Up' is ₹1,000 3 |
| Veterinary Clinical Complex, Namakkal (TANUVAS) | Undated; listed 5 Oct 2026 4 | ₹250 plain; ₹500 with contrast4 | ₹200 4 | Hematology ₹150; serum biochemistry ₹150 4 |
| PVNRTVU Veterinary Clinical Complex (Rajendranagar, Hyderabad) | Undated; listed 5 Oct 2026 5 | ₹300, companion-animal tier5 | Abdomen ₹750; heart/2D echo ₹1,000 5 | Complete blood picture ₹350; liver/kidney/electrolyte panels ₹150 per test5 |
| Chandigarh government vet institutions | Undated6 | ₹30 per film; radiology wing marked not functioning6 | Not listed6 | Blood test and urine test together, ₹20 6 |
| Delhi government vet hospitals | Undated FAQ7 | Available at Tis Hazari and Bawana; fee not stated7 | Not listed7 | Lab facility at Veterinary Hospital, Palam; fee not stated7 |
Other blood work these hospitals price separately
- IVRI Bareilly also lists kidney function (BUN-creatinine) ₹300, liver function (SGPT, total protein, albumin) ₹400, bilirubin ₹200, calcium ₹100, phosphorus ₹100 and amylase ₹100 for pet animals1.
- PVNRTVU Hyderabad separately prices a blood smear ₹200 and an ABST test ₹350, on top of its ₹350 complete blood picture5.
- Hebbal's hematology and biochemistry are priced per parameter (around ₹40 each), so a panel with several values costs more than one test2.
Why a private bill is usually higher
No government body fixes what a private vet clinic may charge for an X-ray, blood test or scan; the vets' code of ethics only says the fee should be announced when the service is given. The nearest official yardstick is what these government and university hospitals publish, and even they differ by two to three times for the same test123456. See what government vet hospitals charge for OPD, vaccination and surgery fees on the same pattern.
A government fee often covers only the doctor's reading of the film or report, not every extra. Ask whether the report, repeat films (if the first is unclear) or sedation are included before you agree to a test. Our guide on reading a vet bill explains how to check a private clinic's itemised bill line by line.
Before you agree to a test
- Ask what the test will show and why it's needed before it's done, not after.
- Ask for a written estimate, and for the report and film or scan images afterwards.
- Keep every report with the bill; you may need them again for a second opinion or an insurance claim.
- Check the date next to each fee on this page. It's the date of the hospital's own list, not today's price — fees can change.
How we chose these numbers
We list only fees published by the hospital, university or government itself, with the date of its list. We don't use crowd-sourced prices or compare named private clinics.
Not fully clear yet
Official sources disagree or leave gaps on these. Confirm before you rely on them.
- The TANUVAS, PVNRTVU and Chandigarh fee lists carry no date on the page itself3456; we note when we accessed them instead.
- Delhi's government hospitals offer X-ray and lab facilities at specific sites, but its FAQ doesn't state a fee for either7.
- Madras Veterinary College's page doesn't list a standalone blood-test fee; its only lab-style figure is a bundled 'Master Health Check Up' at ₹1,000, so we can't say what a single blood test costs there3.
- None of these lists say whether the X-ray or ultrasound fee includes a radiologist's written report, or whether sedation (sometimes needed to keep a dog still) is charged separately. Ask at the hospital.
Sources and how we check
Facts checked against the official sources below by Thapki. Written with AI help from the sources below, then checked line by line; the Thapki team reads and approves every page before it goes live. How we check
- 1Clinical services: Referral Veterinary Polyclinic registration fee and charges (w.e.f. June 2024)
- 2Rates charged for services at Veterinary College, Hebbal (letter No. VCH/R/2.1/2021/157, 26 Aug 2021; scanned PDF)
- 3MVC Chennai teaching hospital: hospital fee structure
- 4Veterinary Clinical Complex, VCRI Namakkal: hospital fee structure
- 5Veterinary Clinical Complex Rajendranagar: fee structure (companion-animal user charges)
- 6Fees structure for pet animals
- 7Frequently asked questions (Animal Husbandry Unit)